This is a website for kids, but who says adults can't use it, too? The site includes educational games organized by grade level, from 1st to 5th, and is particularly good for spelling and phonics. There are games to practice vowels, uppercase and lowercase letters, sight words, synonyms and antonyms and more.
Grammar and vocabulary practice for all levels, including many bilingual quizzes for beginners. Also includes a link for teachers, with conversation questions, games, and many other ideas to put to use in the classroom.
Basic ESL an online education portal, leveraging the "Basic English as a Second Language" learning system, to deliver a tested and proven model for learning English through rich internet technologies.
An array of wonderful activities for practice, some relating to current events. Includes videos, quizzes, vocabulary practice, idioms, crosswords, and much more, though all with British accents, mannerisms, and slang
Novi Public Library is pleased to announce that we now offer the Bluebird language-learning app for free to all library patrons. With 163 of the world's most popular languages, plus ESL courses taught in 146 home languages, Bluebird focuses on teaching languages hands-free via interactive audio lessons. Bluebird can also create personalized audio lessons based on your occupational or personal interests. Get started now by downloading the Bluebird app on Google Play or the App Store. Use the institutional code "NOVI" to set up your account today!
If you already have a Pronunciator account, you can log into the Bluebird app with your existing Pronunciator credentials. Otherwise, register directly in Bluebird. However, it is recommended that you first register through the browser-based site before trying to log into the mobile apps (iOS or Android).
Access the Bluebird app for Android phones and tablets here:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pronunciatorllc.bluebird
Access the Bluebird app for iOS app for phones and tablets here:
https://apps.apple.com/app/id1484286928
Learn more about Bluebird here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3aft-cFWJ8
A forum for both ESL teachers and students around the world. Includes quizzes, grammar explanations, and discussion forums for students. For teachers, includes classroom ideas on all subjects as well as discussion forums.
Free English courses for speakers of Arabic, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Start at the basic level or take tests to move to higher levels. Practice vocabulary and grammar with short lessons that are like playing a game. You will need to sign up with an email address or a Facebook account. For use on your phone or computer.
An attractive, user-friendly website including grammar, pronunciation, reading and listening practice and an interactive picture dictionary.
Audiobooks, news stories, short stories, songs and radio dramas. Choose between faster or slower listening speeds and read along with the texts of the stories and songs. For intermediate and advanced learners.
A well-designed site with interactive tutorials for everything from operating an ATM machine to reading food labels. If you click on the main page icon and then click on reading, the site has resources for English language learners as well, including stories to listen to and read along, and picture dictionaries.
An online picture dictionary, with everything from the alphabet to parts of the body to farm animals. This site also contains some help with irregular verbs.
Vocabulary exercises organized by theme.
This website includes matching quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer-assisted language learning activities. The site also includes a special page on pronunciation, including practice with minimal pairs.
This site from Oxford University Press has activities to practice spelling, grammar, pronunciation, and listening. The site is a bit difficult to navigate and more suitable for advanced learners and savvy internet users.
Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 100 languages with Personalized Courses that include study guides and audio lessons, video phrases, movies, music, and more. Learn online, either on your desktop computer or mobile device! In order to track your progress, please create an account. This database is paid for by Novi Public Library.
Spanish-language resource. Covers academic and non-academic subjects. Offers content from reference books, general interest magazines, health reports, and other sources. Daily updates from a dozen newspapers from ten Latin American countries and more than 2,500 health reports.
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. Offered in Spanish, French, and English.
This site includes videos with native speakers explaining key reading concepts like critical reading, summarizing and scanning, and key life skills like signing a lease and reading a medicine label. Following each video is a comprehension quiz. Click on the blue tabs across the top for lessons on reading, writing, vocabulary and finance.
Multimedia source of news and information for millions of English learners worldwide.
Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) Prep Toolkit